Posts Tagged ‘help with driving my kids’
Car Seat Safety in Missouri
TLC for Kids babysitters and nannies are available to drive kids. Our temporary babysitters can help with driving to school, after school activities or to a friend’s house for a play date. TLC nannies not only drive kids to school and other activities but often assist the family with errands. We do ask that the parents provide the sitter with the appropriate car seat.
Please read the information below about car seat recommendations and requirements for the state of Missouri.
Child Car Seat Laws
While safety belts offer excellent protection for adults, they are not designed to keep children safe in the event of a motor vehicle accident. Missouri law states:
• A child less than four years old or weighing under 40 pounds must be secured in a child passenger restraint system appropriate for the child.
• A child over four years of age, but less than eight years of age, who also weighs between 40 and 80 pounds and is under 4’9″ tall, must be secured in a child passenger restraint system or booster seat appropriate for that child.
• Children 8 years old and older at least 80 pounds, or children more than 4’9″ tall, are required to be secured by an appropriate vehicle safety belt or booster seat.
The fine for violating Missouri’s child safety law is $50 plus court costs. Child safety seat requirements do not apply to children who are being transported in a school bus or public carrier for hire.
If you’re in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. Before ordering, be sure to read our articles on How to Buy a Child Safety Seat and How to Install a Child Safety Seat.
If you have questions about Missouri’s child safety restraint laws or wish to schedule a checkup to ensure your car seat is installed correctly, contact the Missouri Department of Transportation at (800) 800-2358.
Missouri Car Seat Laws
Any child under the age of four (4) must be restrained in a child safety seat.
This child passenger restraint system must have an approval label from the United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) indicating that the child safety seat or system meets Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.
Missouri Booster Seat Requirements
Children meeting the following criteria must be transported in a booster seat:
The child weighs a minimum of forty (40) pounds regardless of age, or
The child is from four (4) to eight (8) years of age, or
The child weighs from forty (40) to eighty (80) pounds, or
The child is less than four (4) feet nine (9) inches in height